2015 MTV Africa Music Awards Winners!


2015 MTV Africa Music Awards Winners!


Numerous stars of the African as well as the international music industry were brought together in KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa, to celebrate the fifth edition of the MTV Africa KwaZulu-Natal! The show was all about African music and young artists, and the spectators were able to enjoy phantasmagorical performances and collaborations by their favorite talents!

MAMA 2015 also brought forth the most exhilarating collaborations between artists who normally belong to different musical genres, such as Ne-Yo and Seyi Shay, 2Face with Bucie, Sauti Sol and Yemi Alade, and Patoranking performing alongside K.O!  The show closed on a high note, with an electrifying medley mash-up by P-Square! Since the event coincided with the anniversary of the birthday of the late Nelson Mandela, many artists saluted this remarkable man, and drew inspiration from his legend.

After the 2015 MTV Africa Music Awards, Alex Okosi, the Senior Vice President and Managing Director of VIMN Africa, said that Africa is a continent of the now and the future, and that the night of the MAMA 2015 was testament to that, and added that the event represented and reflected the abundant amount of creativity and passion the African continent needs.

The 2015 MTX Africa Music Award Winners are:

Best Female: Yemi Alade (Nigeria)


Best Male: Davido (Nigeria)


Best Group: P-Square (Nigeria)


Best New Act Transformed by Absolut: Patoranking (Nigeria)


Best Hip Hop:  Cassper Nyovest (South Africa)


Best Collaboration: AKA, Burna Boy, Da LES & JR: “All Eyes On Me” (SA/Nigeria)


Song of the Year: Mavins: “Dorobucci” (Nigeria)


Best Live: Diamond Platnumz (Tanzania)


Video of the Year:  “Nafukwa” – Riky Rick; Director: Adriaan Louw


Best Pop & Alternative: Jeremy Loops (South Africa)


Best Francophone: DJ Arafat (Ivory Coast)


Best Lusophone: Ary (Angola)


Personality of the Year:  Trevor Noah (South Africa)


MAMA Evolution: D’Banj (Nigeria)


Best International: Nicki Minaj


Artist of the Decade: P-Square


MTV Base Leadership Award: Saran Kaba Jones & S’Bu Mavundla